9 clan Temple Tour

The 9 clan temple namely Illayathankudi, Mathur, Vairavan patti, Pillayarpatti and Nemam, Soorakudi, Iraniyur, Velangadi and Illuppakuddi are temples said to have be granted to the Nagarathar in the early 8th century. But heituer tueir earlier history non things grants have been convincigly documented. However the renavation, Restoration , Reconstruction by the chettiyar in the 19th and 20th century are well recorded. All these temples are within 25 km of karaikudi